The HASH! AH-AHHHH! Bento

sweethash

I wish I could include musical notes in the title, but I can’t. So you’ll have to hum it yourself.

It has been essentially four months since I posted anything that I have eaten or made for the general public and I feel terrible about it. Around the time of my last entry, getting my act together, hunkering down, and finishing college took precedence and my bentos had to be put on the back burner for a bit.

Figuratively, of course, because who likes giant hunks of melted plastic?

Anyway, with an abundance of time on my hands now, I am able to resuscitate this and take on the project of reminiscing over everything I packed and ate over the past few months because while I posted nothing, I did take pictures of just about everything. Incidentally, in my professional editing class we had to create a wee website and I, of course, created a diluted version of my blog (you can see the website here). Anyway, onward to the good stuff!

I finally got to try a recipe I have been drooling over for the past month : Sweet potato hash! The original recipe recommends using a food processor to shred the sweet potato but I wasn’t about to dust of the ol’ food processor and use it because, if I haven’t mentioned it before, I do not have a dishwasher! I used a handgrater instead and I surprisingly did not injure myself! I decided to shred it all last night, too, because I had to be up wicked early this morning.

I followed the spices listed and used Herbes de Provence for the dried herbs mentioned. It cooked rather quickly and I poached an egg while waiting. Because it cooked within five minutes, I was also able to sauté some green beans with garlic and onions. To the right is some cut up Honeycrisp apple with apple pie spice and a vanilla protein glaze.

I cannot express just how delicious this hash is. It is so savory and pairs so well with the egg. I’m so glad that I shredded an enormous sweet potato so I can make it again for breakfast tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

