The Marinated Tofu Bento

20130605-142233.jpg

This bento was born out of the necessary evil of cleaning out my fridge. I have a small problem of buying food, using some or none of it, placing new food in front of it, and then chucking it 6 months later when it has changed color. During this process I think I threw out a whole jar of marinara, some moldy bread, and miscellaneous jars of other stuff. I did find a block of tofu in the back of the fridge that I remembered was a recent purchase because it was on sale. It was 2 days past its expo date but since it’s just floating around it water, I figured I could risk it. I marinated it for 24 hours, sliced it into triangles, baked it for 30 minutes at 400 and then pan-seared it to try and make it a little crunchier. It turned out pretty tasty! Tasty enough that while I intended to use it for a couple of days, my boyfriend ate most of it, thwarting all endeavors. It made my man eat tofu, though, so I really can’t fuss about it!

I put it on a bed of greens with some crumbled Manchego cheese (also rescued from certain death by neglect) and balsamic glaze. Below are some sautéed green beans and an egg white salad made with hard-boiled egg whites, Trader Joe’s Spinach and Kale Greek Yogurt Dip, and paprika.

    Marinade for Tofu

6 tbsp Bragg’s Liquid Aminos (I used this because it’s a really low sodium version of soy sauce. You can use soy sauce.)
2-3 tsp honey
1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
1.5 tbsp of ginger (I just grated a bunch of it and couldn’t really tell how much I put.)
2 tsp crushed garlic

Play with the marinade and see what you like with it. I might go for more garlic the next time, but I was pleased with the results!

Leave a Reply

