Brunch Bento

20130209-134430.jpg
I had to work early today from 5am-1pm. Even though I’ve been doing this for years, it is still difficult to get into a comfortable breakfast routine. It takes about 3 hours from the time I wake up to become hungry and it often hits me like a ton of bricks. Today I came to work prepared. I brought my little strawberry protein shake (it tastes like strawberry Quik and has some questionable artificial ingredients but I figure it maintains a balance somewhat) and a fiber bar. I whipped up these nifty protein pancakes before I left the house and stuck them in my bento with a bit of maple almond butter. To make them you take a scoop of protein powder and mix it with 2 egg whites, spread it out into a little pancake shape in a small pan over medium heat, cook one side, flip, cook other side, and consume. They look like regular pancakes, too! I use Met-Rx protein powder and it tends to thicken quite a bit so I only used about 3/4 of a scoop, added half a tablespoon of chia seeds, and made two nicely sized pancakes. Highly recommended to everyone!

And I don’t think I’ll ever tire of the strawberry, avocado, balsamic salad. I think I have a friend for life with that combination. And say hi to our old friend butternut squash, who’s still kicking!

Leave a Reply

