Veganized bento!

20130210-180350.jpg

This past week, I went a little overboard on my grocery budget. I made too much money over the holidays and since I work at a grocery store and rarely venture into other retail establishments, I spent most of my extra income on food. My freezer was bulging with all sorts of frozen vegetables and something needed to be done. I pulled out the butternut squash I had frozen last month and whipped up the Garam Masala butternut squash. I also had a bag of frozen kale. There’s only one reliable kale recipe I’ve made and it’s Garlicky Kale and Mushrooms from vegan queen Isa Chandra Moscowitz’s Appetite for Reduction. I bought the cookbook during my roughly 5-minute long vegan phase where I would do really well for breakfast and lunch, feel great about my accomplishments and then reward myself with chicken. I now use the recipes for my vegetable sides and they are just so darn tasty!

I then made another salad with the other half of my avocado, cut strawberries, power greens, broccoli slaw, and a kitty head cup of balsamic glaze. Let me tell you that avocado, strawberries, and balsamic are an absolutely killer combination. Try it!

Isa Chandra Moscowitz’s Garlicky Kale and Mushrooms
1 tsp olive oil (I used a hot pepper olive oil)
6 cloves garlic, minced
1/4 tsp salt
8 oz. cremini or button mushrooms, sliced
1 lb. Kale, coarse stems removed, leaves sliced or torn into pieces (I just thawed and strained the frozen kale)
Several pinches of ground black pepper

Preheat a large skillet over medium heat. Sauté the garlic in the oil for about 2 minutes, being careful not to burn it. Spray it with a little nonstick cooking spray if needed. Add the mushrooms and sprinkle on the salt. Let them cook for 5 to 7 minutes, stirring often, until the moisture has released and the mushrooms are lightly browned. Add the kale and pepper, and use tongs to sauté for about 10 more minutes. Add splashes of water if the pan seems dry. The kale should be tender and cooked down pretty well. Serve immediately.

The other recipes in her book that I want to try are grilled portobellos, ginger mashed sweet potatoes and apples, lettuce wraps with hoisin-mustard tofu, and buffalo tempeh. In the meantime, I found a non-vegan breakfast adaptation of this kale recipe that looks phenomenal as well!

Leave a Reply

