Birthday Bento

dec72012bento

This is the bento made with leftovers from my birthday dinner at my parents’ house. My mom makes these AMAZING beef and rice stuffed cabbage rolls with like 17 cloves of garlic boiled in an enormous pot. It is the dish that converted me back into an omnivore after 2 years of vegetarianism. It was my grandfather’s recipe and my mom has a good arsenal of his recipes. I, however, completely forgot to retrieve the recipe. But I will endeavor to retrieve it and more! The rest of the bento is my typical cast of characters- mini muffins, edamame, out of season fruit, trail mix- and a few new additions of corn, peas, and a frozen yogurt squisher.

*addendum

Emile’s Stuffed Cabbage
Separate leaves from a head of cabbage. Put leaves in boiling water– a few leaves at a time– for about one minute. Drain

Meat mixture:
1/2 lb. ground beef
1/4 cup rice
2 tbsp. melted butter
1/2 tsp salt

Mix together by hand.
Wrap cabbage leaves around small pieces of meat mixture. Add 17 cloves of garlic to the pot. Add hot water, just to the top of the top layer of cabbage rolls. Simmer 1 hour.

Mix 2/3 of a lemon (juice) over 3 more cloves of crushed garlic. Add some crushed mint leaves. Add more water if needed. Simmer 15 minutes longer.

Leave a Reply

