Leftover spaghetti squash bento

nov142012bento

This one I was really proud of! Mostly because it was the most successful attempt at cooking spaghetti squash that I had ever had. I learned that the more yellow the squash is, the riper it is. I bought a relatively sizeable yellow squash and when I went to cut it, I didn’t feel like I needed heavy artillery! My knife just cut right through it! I roasted it open side down in a pan with about an inch of water and aluminum foil over it for about an hour at 375. I then took it out, scraped all the squash bits out, and sautéed them with butter and garlic, adding in chopped red onion, tomato, and basil. After, I tossed in some thawed cooked shrimp and it was phenomenally delicious! There wasn’t much left over but what little was left I put in my bento with more vegetables and Garam Masala butternut squash.

This was the day that someone asked me, “Whatcha got for today?” The lunch envy grew two sizes that day.

Leave a Reply

